RSS Feed

Gluten-Free Pizzelles

During this festive time of the year you tend to seek nostalgic foods.  For me that would include biscotti and pizzelles or pretty much anything that has anise in it.  To my delight my mom has perfected the gluten-free biscotti, which I was able to enjoy over Christmas dinner (if I can get the recipe I’ll share!).  I haven’t had a biscotti in a long time, and the first recognizable feature was a delectable CRUNCH followed by the anise flavor, and an overall delightful cookie experience.  Going gluten-free has meant certain foods can lack flavor or texture, and it has taken time to incorporate certain dishes into the gluten-free lifestyle.  With homemade meals, you can tweak your recipe here and there to recreate the meal you want.  That isn’t always the case with store-bought meals.

As always, when shopping I try to venture out and try a new brand or product.  I didn’t have much time to bake this season, and since I”m on my anise kick these days I opted to try Bella Lucia Italian Pizzelles. Store bought gluten-free pizzelles seemed risky, but I was willing to give them a try.  Thankfully I did!  They aren’t the exact replica from the days when my grandfather and I used his cast-iron skillet that cooked one pizzelle at a time, but they are delicious.  They have a hearty bite to them, and wonderful flavoring.  Best of all they didn’t crumble.  If you are short on time or want to try a new product I would recommend these.  They can be a little pricey, at $5.99 for 10 pizzelles (per Wegmans), but they’re worth it for a special occasion or a treat.

About myglutenfreelifestyle

This is Ann Marie Regan from Philadelphia, PA. A few words to describe me: celiac, runner, cook, traveler. If you're reading my blog chances are you are on a gluten free diet or know someone who is. New information and ideas are constantly surfacing and you can read my blog to learn more :)

2 responses »

  1. Thank you Ann Marie for your comments about Bella Lucia GF Pizzelles. I am so glad you enjoy them!
    Maryann Petta Cook
    Owner

    Reply

Leave a Reply

