I’ve heard that Five Guys offers gluten-free fast food, but I wanted to confirm with a representative regarding their french fries. I always ask if they use the same frying oil for other gluten products (chicken fingers, onion rings) to avoid cross contamination. Turns out they keep a dedicated fryer for their fries. Even their burgers are gluten-free! I suggest bringing a gluten-free hamburger bun (Udi’s makes a decent one) the next time a burger and fries craving hits.
Below you will find the response from Five Guys (research on 11/14/12):
Dear Ann Regan,
Thank you for taking the time to write in to Five Guys, we appreciate you taking the time to do so. We have received your inquire in regards to the presence of gluten in our products.
Currently, Five Guys DOES NOT offer a gluten-free bun, as we have yet to find a bun we feel meets the flavor of our burger. However, I’d like to advise you that it is absolutely possible for you to order your burger without the bun. Our buns and the malt vinegar condiment are the only products we offer that DO include gluten. Our burger patties and hot dogs DO NOT contain gluten.
Five Guys french fries also DO NOT contain gluten. They are simply potatoes soaked in water and fried in refined peanut oil using fryers that are ONLY used for French fries.
I am happy to have assisted you with your inquiry.
Thanks for your interest in Five Guys. Please enjoy us often!