RSS Feed

Italian Anyone?

Italian Anyone?

I LOVE pasta.  As an Italian it would be an oxymoron to state otherwise. Unfortunately, a gluten-free diet was not so kind to my affinity for baked ziti, lasagna or stuffed shells. Initially my options were limited, and it was hard at first to find gluten-free substitutes.  This was upsetting as I grew up breathing in the scent of gravy cooking on the stove in the late morning, with garlic and basil floating in the air. Freshly grated locatelli cheese covered the countertop, and meatballs sizzled in the oven awaiting their destiny to be married to red gravy. A thing of the past? Nope. Take a look at the picture to the left – looks just like homemade!

Gluten-free living continues to become easier thanks to product advancements. The evolution of non-mushy gluten-free noodles has revived my enthusiasm for pasta and meatballs, and as a busy Celiac (aren’t we all?) I can even appreciate sauce-in-a-jar like Classico.  But what about involved dishes – will I be able to have a satisfying dinner of say manicotti again? I don’t always have time to peruse the supermarket aisles to learn about new products that are being introduced. I was in luck when I discovered Caesar’s Pasta at the Appetite For Awareness event, and I was fortunate enough to sample their gluten-free chicken lasagna.  Thus a new brand has entered my life.

Built on an Italian tradition of providing quality ingredients and flavor, Caesar’s Pasta has taken a significant leap to accommodate its Celiac customer.  Their products are not only delicious and reasonably priced, but their gluten-free product line is VAST.  Lasagna – cheese, veggi or chicken?  Gnocchi – potato or spinach?  Cannelloni or stuffed shells?  Each dish is a perfect size for one, and while it’s heating up the aroma penetrates the air bringing back fond Sunday dinner memories of Italian seasonings and hearty cheeses.  It’s exciting to learn about progressive food manufacturers, like Caesar’s Pasta, who take into account the dietary restrictions of its customers, and are able to deliver an excellent product.   The next time I have the “What’s for dinner?” question lingering I think I’ll go with the spinach gnocchi…

About myglutenfreelifestyle

This is Ann Marie Regan from Philadelphia, PA. A few words to describe me: celiac, runner, cook, traveler. If you're reading my blog chances are you are on a gluten free diet or know someone who is. New information and ideas are constantly surfacing and you can read my blog to learn more :)

Leave a Reply

