RSS Feed

Traveling Gluten-Free

The word ‘vacation’ can elicit a smile on anyone’s face.  There was a sad point in time where that word cause me anxiety, but today I’m as excited as the next person ready to escape their cubicle for a joyous week on the beach or touring a new destination.  Gluten-free dining has become easier to manage while away from your safe zones (your gluten-free kitchen, gluten-free tested restaurants and supermarkets), and traveling can be easy.  There are a few ideas I would recommend prior to making a trip, but even if it is last-minute like mine (yes we bought tickets to St. Thomas 10 days before we saw the seat fastened light while sitting on plane) it is manageable.

Prior to your departure research the area as much as you can.  Go online and see what restaurants are in the area you will be (such as your resorts and resorts close to you).  If you don’t have time I highly suggest packing travel friendly foods.  You must comply with airline regulations (please check with the airline as standards can and do change), but as long as the product has never been opened and is not a liquid.  Here you can find the contents of my last-minute trip.  Fortunately for me my boyfriend (who is such a good supporter) carried two loaves of pre-packaged gluten-free bread in his back-back 🙂

Here are the other travel-friendly foods that haven’t caused any issues in the airports:

Have other suggestions?  Please tell me as I’d love to incorporate new ideas!!

About myglutenfreelifestyle

This is Ann Marie Regan from Philadelphia, PA. A few words to describe me: celiac, runner, cook, traveler. If you're reading my blog chances are you are on a gluten free diet or know someone who is. New information and ideas are constantly surfacing and you can read my blog to learn more :)

Leave a Reply

