RSS Feed

Pound Cake

The term “pound cake” brings to mind a sweet, hearty, and rich cake.  Best served with a glass of milk in my opinion, but I know others who prefer it with a cup of tea or coffee.  My pre-celiac years recall sharing this dessert with my grandfather who always had a treat reserved for any given day.  Sometimes homemade, sometimes store-bought, but always scrumptious. I have never attempted to bake a pound cake, neither gluten-free nor the gluten-laden version.  Thankfully I don’t have to either.  Thanks again to Jennie’s Gluten-Free Bakery, they have now introduced to the celiac community a satisfying treat worth trying.

There are two varieties:  classic and marble.  When you take your first bit you can taste a slight coconut flavor, and the texture is that of a moist cake – a nice treat I didn’t have to bake.  Perhaps that it part of the reason I was smiling.  This was made for me and still tasted good, and to me food always tastes good when you don’t have to make it 🙂

A great selling point I would like to highlight is the packaging.  Each box contains five individually wrapped single mini-cakes.  Perfect for one and ready for travel.

These cakes aren’t in stores just yet so please visit the site to shop online and try some.  I think it’s wonderful that companies such as Jennie’s strive to introduce new products to the gluten-free community.  To me it’s exciting to see companies expand their product lines to encompass individual wants while still making sure celiac needs are met (no cross contamination here!).  In time I hope to find these on store shelves along with their macaroons.

About myglutenfreelifestyle

This is Ann Marie Regan from Philadelphia, PA. A few words to describe me: celiac, runner, cook, traveler. If you're reading my blog chances are you are on a gluten free diet or know someone who is. New information and ideas are constantly surfacing and you can read my blog to learn more :)

Leave a Reply

