RSS Feed

Crock Pot Recipe – Pulled Pork

With the weather getting warmer and no grill, how can you make delicious meals without turning on the oven?  I find the crock pot to be the perfect substitute.  A grilled burger or hot dog will not an option, but you will get slow-cooked meats that fall apart when you come home from work starving.

One dinner that is sure to be a crowd pleaser is pulled pork.  Some like to have it as a sandwich, and others may serve it with a side of mashed potatoes.  Here is my take on this recipe, and don’t worry it doesn’t include creating your own seasoning mix – I thank McCormick for that!  When able I use prepared mixes, and McCormick offers various gluten-free seasonings.  Below you will find the recipe per McCormick’s pulled pork seasoning packet:

Pull-Pork

Trim the pork and place in the crock pot.  Mix the ingredients in a bowl, and pour over the meat.  I had to cook this on low for 10 hours, so I added another 1/4 cup to 1/3 cup of water to the mix to make sure there was enough liquid for the additional 2 hours.

Now that I copied my meat recipe, I do have some personalized side dishes.  Please note it is difficult for me to give specific measurements.  I like to use what I have on hand, and measuring usually includes ‘some of this…’.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

  • 3 medium-sized Russet baking potatoes
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 T butter
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • Parmesan cheese – enough to taste
  • Salt – enough to taste
  • Pepper – enough to taste

The trick with the garlic is to put the whole clove in the pot and let it cook with the potatoes.  Once the potatoes are soft, drain and add in the butter.  Mash the potatoes, garlic and butter. Then add in the sour cream and milk.  If you would like thinner potatoes add in more milk to your desired taste.  Lastly, mix in the parmesan cheese, salt and pepper.

Steamed Broccoli

No meal is complete without this wonderful vegetable.  Steam fresh or frozen broccoli and if you prefer you can toss with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

About myglutenfreelifestyle

This is Ann Marie Regan from Philadelphia, PA. A few words to describe me: celiac, runner, cook, traveler. If you're reading my blog chances are you are on a gluten free diet or know someone who is. New information and ideas are constantly surfacing and you can read my blog to learn more :)

Leave a Reply

