RSS Feed

Bridget’s – Ambler, PA

After a long work week where do you typically find yourself?  Happy Hour of course!  This includes starting the night off with a refreshing drink to wash away the stress from work, and to enjoy the company of friends you haven’t seen in a while.   On this particular night I found myself with a dear friend at a local restaurant in Ambler, PA – Bridget’s Steak House.  What started out as drinks evolved into a welcomed dinner and more drinks (just look at their wine list, you would have done the same too).

Eating out should be a pleasant time, but for celiacs and celiacs alike, it usually poses some concern when ordering.  You always wonder if the staff understands what gluten free means, and not just the specific ingredients but the way it is prepared too.  Cross contamination is as much of a problem as the ingredients are, and it is difficult to convey this to busy waiters and staff.  This was not the case at Bridget’s Steak House.  Upon first learning that I required a special meal the manager was most helpful in discussing with the chef my diet restriction, and then he also directed one of the waitresses who understood the diet to speak with me.  They were more than willing to customize any dish I wanted.  

Quite confident in the service, I decided to take advantage of the opportunity to eat a hot meal.  I chose their chicken dish that included goat cheese, prosciutto, asparagus and a substitution of the risotto for their mashed potatoes.  This sounds quite simple but don’t be fooled.  The dish had an artistic look, which captured my attention, as it was layered so that each bit embraced all the flavors and textures of each component.  The chicken was cooked and seasoned perfectly and was smoothered with a warm goat cheese, and topped off with the proscuitto.  This made for a salty and creamy combination of the cheese and ham, with the chicken being cooked so that the juices made your mouth water.  The mashed potatoes offered a smooth and creamy texture with a parmesan cheese mixed throughout, while the aspargus provided the crunch aspect of the meal.  To say I enjoyed the dish would be an understatement.   

Experiences such as this reminds me that there are times when I can order a full meal and not let worry prevent me from savoring it.  For all of you that are skeptical of ordering even a salad I hope the exceptional service provided by Bridget’s Steak House altered your perspective in working with the staff.  It is not easy to discuss your  diet contraints, but there are places that want to serve you and allow you to enjoy the finer foods.  Always use your discretion, but if you feel comfortable enough order something decadent as I did please, please, please seize the chance!!

About myglutenfreelifestyle

This is Ann Marie Regan from Philadelphia, PA. A few words to describe me: celiac, runner, cook, traveler. If you're reading my blog chances are you are on a gluten free diet or know someone who is. New information and ideas are constantly surfacing and you can read my blog to learn more :)

2 responses »

  1. Hi! I’m not a gluten-free person, but what caught my eye was Ambler. I’m from the general area (Blue Bell) and went to Wissahickon (many moons ago!) Don’t think I’ve ever heard of Bridget’s though…must be a new restaurant. Haven’t lived in the states for over 7 years now.

    Reply
    • Welcome! Yes, I believe Bridget’s is fairly new. It was recommended to me by a friend, and it had a nice atmosphere. I too am pretty new to Ambler, even though I grew up in Springfield (Delco). There are so many places to try and I am eager to explore!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

